What I Know

Here’s what I know. Doing ministry in the local Church is incredible.

It’s also incredibly easy, sometimes, to loose perspective.

I forget what’s at stake. I forget why.

In the mundane (yes, there are still mundane moments), the tedious, the tough, I forget.

In the joy, celebrations, and salvations, it makes a lot more sense.

I take my eyes off the author of salvation. The one who gives us breath life and is really the ONLY reason I am doing this and I loose sight of the calling.

I want my eyes to ONLY be fixed on Jesus. With that perspective, a lot less slips through the cracks and Jesus is better placed on display.

Even this morning, in the seven minutes I had for devotional time without feeling too late (just being real here) before heading off the church, I asked that He would fill me with both His strength and His tenderness I found my human tiredness taking over my desire to lead children and students. Saying it now, it sounds absolutely ridiculous.

And here, I want to be honest about this journey. I know He has called me to minister in the local Church. What that looks like may change over the years, but the reason will not.

He is the only one worthy and deserving of my entire devotion because of who He is and what He has done for me.

It might be uncomfortable, but I am getting better at being okay with that. Writing is one of the easiest ways for me to see how the Lord is moving and working and to see His faithfulness. I want to see His faithfulness. I want to experience His faithfulness. I want to be more aware of His faithfulness. And I want all to know His faithfulness and ultimately know Him.

“Oh, that we might know the LORD! Let us press on to know him. He will respond to us as surely as the arrival of dawn” Hosea 6:3

Leave a Reply

