College Life

God blew my mind last week in College Life and I knew I had to write about it. But then it occurred to me that I have never introduced you to College Life and also knew you would need a brief history to understand the beauty and goodness of last night.

Summer 2014 – No summer college life anything. Just 10-15 students who met once a week to discuss scripture and talk about Jesus and life. And who also played a lot of ping pong.

Summer 2015 – We had an idea. We thought maybe just maybe we could reach out to some of the students we knew and use a video series “For the Life of the World: Letters to the Exiles” to run our very first “College Life Summer Series” we might have something.  We planned it out, intentionally texted a few friends, bought some ice cream and hot dogs and played a lot of 9 square. It was a pretty amazing summer. We walked away incredibly thankful for the 20-30 students who met every week and the memories, encouragement, and blessings that came from that summer. Into the school year we saw about 15 students each week and we were thankful.

Summer 2016 – God had already amazed us last summer and I honestly didn’t want to get my hopes up. I didn’t know what to expect, I didn’t know if He would do it again. But we found another video series called “7 Commandments of Your Calling” written just for students and we planned, communicated, and it grew again. On average we had 30 -35 students. One night we saw around 50 students and could hardly believe it! God had done it again. We again walked away thankful and our school year group grew to around 20 students.

We began working on the summer series three months ago. Myself and our two other school year leaders Tyler and Darren wrote our own series all centered on exploring the unexamined areas of our lives and responding to the “greater” that Jesus has called us too. We recruited students to help lead worship and lead small groups. We got a little help from leadership of our Church and were given a budget.

Now you know where we’ve been. And that brings us to last week when we kicked off our summer with “Frontiers – Call of the Wild”

Seventy. Three. People. Came.

I know, you may be thinking why do you care so much about numbers? Because it’s evidence. Evidence of what God is doing. Evidence of change and growth. Evidence of God’s people.

For the next few days I was beside myself. I still can’t believe it. I wanted to tell anyone who would listen about what God had done and at the same time I couldn’t even begin to put it into words.

And because I couldn’t believe it, I realized again where I have put limits and expectations and assumptions on God and what He will do or not do instead of clinging to what He promised.

“Now to him who is able to do ABOVE and BEYOND all that we ask or think according to the power that works in us – to him be the glory in the church and in Christ Jesus to all generations, forever and ever. Amen.

– Ephesians 3:20-21 (CSB)

Leave a Reply

